Japan Rail Pass Official Agent and Best price guarantee

Rugby World Cup Japan 2019


Rugby World Cup Japan 2019 will be held in Japan from September 20th, 2019 to November 2nd, 2019.

Many rugby fans will visit Japan to enjoy this big sports event.

Rugby World Cup Japan 2019

Japan Rail Pass site provides useful information for watching rugby world cup. In addition, the site provides sightseeing information for those who want to enjoy their stay in Japan.

Overview of Rugby World Cup JAPAN 2019

Starting with a match, Japan vs. Russia, in Tokyo stadium on September 20th, 2019, Rugby World Cup will continue until the final on November 2nd, 2019, in International Stadium Yokohama.

During this period, there will be 48 matches in 12 stadiums in Japan. 20 teams from all over the world play to be a campion.


20 teams will join this world cup in Japan, including Japan team. 20 teams are grouped into 4 pools. And each team matches against all teams in the same pool in order to be qualified to the quarter finals. Only top 1 and 2 teams in each pool can join the quarter finals.

Pools and teams (world ranking)

  • Pool A
    • Ireland (3rd)
    • Scotland (7th)
    • Japan (11th)
    • Russia (20th)
    • Samoa (17th)
  • Pool B
    • New Zealand (1st)
    • South Africa (5th)
    • Italy (14th)
    • Namibia (23rd)
    • Canada (21st)
  • Pool C
    • England (4th)
    • France (8th)
    • Argentina (10th)
    • USA (15th)
    • Tonga (13th)
  • Pool D
    • Australia (6th)
    • Wales (2nd)
    • Georgia (12th)
    • Fiji (9th)
    • Uruguay (16th)


There will be 48 matches in total. 40 matches are pool matches, 10 matches for each pool. Pool matches will be held from September 20th, 2019, Japan vs. Russia, to October 13th, 2019.

From September 20th to September 26th, there will be at least one match every day. Then, there are some no match days.

Quarter finals are held on October 19th and 20th. Semifinals are held on October 26th and 27th. Bronze final is held on November 1st. And, the final is held on November 2nd.

Venue (Stadium)

48 matches will be held in 12 stadiums in 12 cities located in 3 islands of Japan. 12 stadiums are:

By clicking links above, you can check detail information of each stadium. Each stadium page includes:

  • City overview
  • Stadium information
    • How to access to the stadium
  • How to access to the city from major cities/airports
    • Tokyo, Haneda International Airport/Narita International Airport
    • Osaka, Kansai International Airport
    • Nagoya, Chubu Centrair International Airport
    • Fukuoka, Fukuoka Airport
  • How to access to the stadium with JR Pass (Japan Rail Pass)
  • City attractions
    • What to do
    • What to eat
  • Where to stay

If you have a plan to visit Japan for watching Rugby World Cup Japan 2019, please check the pages above.


    Rugby World Cup Japan 2019 venue/stadium